What are the odds?

I have a couple of watches that I normally wear, and most are automatic watches (the kind that winds up as you move), and I have one watch that is a manual wind up.

I had been wearing a watch for weeks and I decide one morning that I should change, so I go pickup the manual windup watch, that I have not worn for months. I’m about to wind it up and set the the time and realize that I don’t need to, as the current time ws 7:28am and that is exactly the time that was on the watch (checked my treo also, same time). All I had to do was wind it up.

So now that I’m thinking about it and blogging this, the odds of me picking up a stopped watch at the exact time that it was stopped is 1:1440. So it’s high, but not sure how that compares to other odds, so I searched around and found some sites that listed various odds, the first is light-hearted

http://funny2.com/odds.htm

The second being very macarbe, listing all the various odds of dying at the national safety council site.

http://www.nsc.org/lrs/statinfo/odds.htm

~ by Ash Patel on October 19, 2006.

One Response to “What are the odds?”

  1. wow that is pretty amazing Ash. I guess the chances of it happening at 7:28am are higher than later in the day given you would tend to put your watch on first thing but even so it's incredible.

Leave a Reply

 
